Published: Thursday, 07 February 2019

The Pan-African Parliament performs its functions through the Permanent Committees. The PAP Rules of Procedure provides for the following ten Permanent Committees, to which another, the Committee on Audit and Public Accounts (CAPA), was added:

  • Committee on Rural Economy, Agriculture, Natural Resources and Environment,
  • Committee on Monetary and Financial Affairs;
  • Committee on Trade, Customs and Immigration Matters;
  • Committee on Cooperation, International Relations and Conflict Resolutions;
  • Committee on Transport, Industry, Communications, Energy, Science and Technology;
  • Committee on Health, Labour and Social Affairs;
  • Committee on Education, Culture, Tourism and Human Resources;
  • Committee on Gender, Family, Youths and People with Disabilities;
  • Committee on Justice and Human Rights;
  • Committee on Rules, Privileges and Discipline.

The establishment of the Committees is determined by the Parliament. It can establish ad hoc Committees for a specific purpose and when the need arises.

The Bureau of Parliament ensures balance is maintained in the Committees.