Published: Thursday, 07 February 2019


The Bureau of the Pan-African Parliament is composed of 5 members, one President and 4 Vice-Presidents, elected for a three-year term. They represent the 5 regions of Africa: North Africa, Central Africa, West Africa, East Africa and Southern Africa.


The Bureau is responsible for:

  • Managing and administrating the Parliament and its organs;
  • Regulating the procedures relating to the financial, organizational and administrative needs in accordance with the financial rules and regulations of the AU and matters concerning members and the internal organization of the Parliament and its organs;
  • Determining the draft agenda and the programmes of the Parliamentary Sessions;
  • Determining the establishment and planning of the structure of the Secretariat, as well as laying down regulations, terms, and conditions of service for the staff submitted to Parliament for adoption;
  • Proposing to the Council and the Assembly the number and job descriptions of its support staff;
  • Proposing to the Pan-African Parliament, the appointment of the Clerk and Deputy Clerks to the Parliament;
  • Preparing the draft budget of the Parliament and its presentation to the responsible Committee;
  • Coordinating and harmonizing the functions of the Permanent Committees;
  • Any other matters in accordance with the directives issued by Parliament;
  • Carrying out any other functions as prescribed by Parliament or incidental to these functions.


The current Bureau is composed of the following members: