• Closing of the 3rd Ordinary Session of the 4th Parliament of the Pan-African Parliament in Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt.
About PAP

The Pan African Parliament was established as an organ the African Union (AU) in order to ensure the full participation of African peoples in the development and economic integration of the continent. The first Parliament was inaugurated on 18 March 2004 in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia and its headquarters is in Midrand, South Africa. The ultimate aim of the Pan African Parliament shall be to evolve into an institution with full legislative powers, whose members are elected by universal adult suffrage. The new protocol granting these powers has been adopted by the AU and is currently under ratification by member states. However until such a time that the new protocol comes into force, the Pan African Parliament shall have consultative and advisory powers within the AU.

About the Eleven PAP Committees

The PAP has eleven Permanent Committees and one ad hoc committee whose mandates and functions are set out in Rules 22 to 27 of the PAP Rules of Procedure. The functions of the committees correspond to those of the African Union Specialised Technical Committees.

About the Bureau

The Bureau of the PAP is ultimately responsible for the organisation and operations of the Parliament as an institution. It is composed of the President and four Vice-Presidents representing the five regions (North, Central, Eastern, Western and Southern) of the African continent.

PAP Committees

Trade, Customs and Immigration Matters Education, Culture, Tourism and Human Resources Gender, Family, Youth and People with Disability Rural Economy, Agriculture, Natural Resources and Environment Co-operation, International Relations and Conflict Resolution Monetary and Financial Affairs
Justice and Human Rights Health, Labour and Social Affairs Transport, Industry, Communication, Energy, Science and Technology Rules, Priveledges and Discipline Audit and Public Accounts